Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeLatest NewsRajasthan Assembly Elections 2023: 17 out of 25 Congress ministers lost to...

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2023: 17 out of 25 Congress ministers lost to anti-incumbency wave

– Raheem Khan

Jaipur, Dec. 4: In the Rajasthan Assembly elections, the people of the state have once again maintained the tradition of changing the government every five years. BJP has registered a big victory by crossing the majority mark, winning 115 out of 199 seats in the Assembly elections result announced yesterday. Seventeen out of 25 Congress ministers have lost the elections in the anti-incumbency wave. Bharat Adivasi Party candidates have won three seats in the state. At the same time, two seats have come to BSP’s account. RLD and RLP have also managed to win one seat each. Eight independents have also won. Whereas Congress has been able to win only 69 seats.

Victories and defeats of veteran leaders
Former Chief Minister and BJP leader Vasundhara Raje has won the election from Jhalrapatan seat, but former BJP state president and deputy leader of opposition Satish Poonia has lost the election from Amer seat. Along with this, BJP’s leader of opposition Rajendra Rathore has also lost the election from Taranagar. Rathore had won 7 consecutive assembly elections till now, but for the first time he had to face defeat. Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has won the election from Sardarpura seat of Jodhpur. Sachin Pilot has also won from Tonk seat.

At the same time, senior Congress leader Assembly Speaker CP Joshi had to face defeat from Nathdwara Assembly. BJP had fielded 7 of its MPs but only 4 of them could register victory. Three MPs had to face defeat, two of them, Devji Patel and Bhagirath Choudhary, remained at third position.

Congress leader and spokesperson Professor Gaurav Vallabh was in the election fray from Udaipur, and he was defeated by BJP’s Tarachand Jain by 32771 votes.

Cabinet minister in Gehlot government and veteran Congress leader Pratap Singh Khachariyawas was contesting from Civil Lines. He was defeated by Gopal Sharma of BJP by 28329 votes. Gopal Sharma has come to politics from journalism.

The following 17 ministers of the Gehlot government were defeated:

  1. Khajuwala – Govind Ram Meghwal
  2. Kolayat – Bhanwar Singh Bhati
  3. Sapotra – Ramesh Meena
  4. Lalsot – Parsadi Lal Meena
  5. Dig-Kumher – Vishvendra Singh
  6. Civil Lines – Pratap Singh Khachariyawas
  7. Sikrai – Mamta Bhupesh
  8. Bansoor – Shankutla Rawat
  9. Kotputli – Rajendra Yadav
  10. Bikaner West – BD Kalla
  11. Pokaran – Saleh Mohammad
  12. Mandalgarh – Ram Lal Jat
  13. Sanchore – Sukhram Vishnoi
  14. Nimbahera – Udaylal Anjana
  15. Kaaman – Zahida Khan
  16. Anta – Pramod Jain Bhaya
  17. Animosity – Bhajan Lal Jatav

The ministers of the Gehlot government who could save seats are:

  1. Hindoli – Ashok Chandna
  2. Jhunjhunu – Brijendra Ola
  3. Dausa – Murari Lal Meena
  4. Bharatpur – Subhash Garg
  5. Kota North – Shanti Dhariwal
  6. Bagidaura – Mahendrajit Singh Malviya
  7. Banswara – Arjunlal Bamnia
  8. Alwar Rural – Tikaram Julie

In Rajasthan, 63 sitting Congress MLAs have faced defeat, while only 34 sitting MLAs have been emerged successful.

Eighteen Congress candidates stood third and 9 candidates lost by less than 1600 votes. Apart from this, 4 candidates lost by less than 1000 votes.


Latest Posts