Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeLatest NewsRajasthan Assembly Elections 2023: Muslim representation reduced from 9 to 6

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2023: Muslim representation reduced from 9 to 6




– Raheem Khan

Jaipur, Dec. 3: In the assembly elections held on November 25 in Rajasthan, Congress had given tickets to 15 Muslim candidates while BJP had not given ticket to even a single Muslim candidate. In the Rajasthan Assembly results declared today, 5 out of 15 Congress candidates won, while one independent candidate Yunus Khan also won. Earlier, there were 9 Muslim MLAs in Rajasthan Assembly, this figure has reduced to 6 this time.

Who won the election
Congress candidate Hakam Ali won by 25993 votes by defeating BJP candidate Shravan Chaudhary from Fatehpur assembly seat of Shekhawati. Hakam Ali has become MLA from Fatehpur assembly seat for the second time.

Congress candidate Rafeek Khan won by 14073 votes by defeating BJP candidate Ravi Nayyar from Jaipur’s Adarsh Nagar assembly seat. Rafiq Khan has become MLA from Adarsh Nagar for the second time. Rafiq Khan is also Chairman of Rajasthan State Minorities Commission.

Congress candidate Amin Kagzi won by 7056 votes by defeating BJP candidate Chandramohan Batwada from Kishanpole assembly seat of Jaipur. Amin Kagzi has become MLA for the second time. Amin Kagzi is also the chairman of Rajasthan State Haj Committee.

Congress candidate Zuber Khan has won by 19696 votes by defeating BJP candidate Jai Ahuja from Ramgarh assembly seat of Alwar district. Earlier, Zubair Khan’s wife Safia Zubair was the MLA from this seat, but this time her ticket was given to Zubair Khan.

Makrana BJP candidate Sumita Bhinchar was defeated by Congress candidate Zakir Hussain Gesawat by 29314 votes. Zakir Hussain was MLA from this seat once before.

Independent candidate Yunus Khan won from Didwana by 2392 votes, defeating Chetan Doody of Congress. Yunus Khan has been an MLA from Didwana on BJP ticket twice before and has also been a powerful minister in Vasundhara Raje’s government. This time, after not getting a ticket from BJP, he contested the election as an independent candidate and won.

They had to face defeat
From Churu, BJP candidate Harlal Saharan defeated Congress candidate Rafiq Mandelia by 6874 votes. Mandelia already lost twice by contesting elections from here on Congress ticket.

Tijara BJP candidate Baba Balaknath defeated Congress candidate Imran Khan by 6173 votes.

BJP candidate from Kaman Nauksham Chaudhary defeated independent Mukhtiar Ahmed by 13906 votes. Whereas Congress candidate Minister Zahida Khan remained at the third position.

From the Nagar seat, BJP candidate Jawahar Singh Bedam defeated Congress candidate Wajib Ali by 1531 votes. Wajib Ali had become MLA from here in 2018 after winning on BSP ticket but after winning, he defected and joined Congress.

BJP candidate from Sawai Madhopur, Rajya Sabha MP Dr. Kirori Lal Meena defeated Congress candidate Danish Abrar by 22510 votes. In 2018, Abrar won from here and became MLA.

From Pushkar seat of Ajmer district, BJP candidate Suresh Singh Rawat defeated Congress candidate Naseem Akhtar Insaf by 13869 votes. Akhtar has previously been an MLA after winning from Pushkar.

From Sursagar seat of Jodhpur district, BJP candidate Devendra Joshi defeated Congress candidate Shahzad Khan by 38759 votes. Earlier in 2018, Congress had given ticket to his father Professor Ayyub from here but he too had to face defeat.

From Pokaran in Jaisalmer district, BJP candidate Mahant Pratappuri Maharaj defeated Congress candidate Minister Saleh Mohammad by 35427 votes. Before this, Saleh Mohammad had been MLA from here twice.

Independent Ravindra Singh Bhati from Shiv defeated independent Fateh Khan by 3950 votes. From here, Congress candidate Amin Khan stood third.

BJP candidate Kalpana Devi defeated Congress candidate Naeemuddin Guddu by 25522 votes from Ladpura assembly seat of Kota.

Former MLA Habibur Rahman from Nagaur assembly seat contested the elections as an independent candidate this time after not getting a ticket from Congress and stood third with 20578 votes.

BSP candidate Wajid Khan Cheeta from Masuda assembly seat stood third with 29508 votes.


Latest Posts